--------------------
  • Bachelor
  • Architecture
    • ----------
    • Degree Programme
    • Prospective Students
    • Structure and Teaching Content
    • Course Offerings
    • Schedules | Dates
    • Thesis
    • Points of Contact | Committees
    • Professors
      • ----------
      • Prof. Matthias Ballestrem
      • Prof. Bernd Dahlgrün
      • Prof. Dr. Udo Dietrich
      • Prof. Dr. Jörn Düwel
      • Prof. Dr. Sabine Hansmann
      • Prof. Martin Kläschen
      • Prof. Mona Mahall
      • Prof. Daniel Mondino
      • Prof. Karsten Schlesier
      • Prof. Antje Stokman
      • Prof. Gesine Weinmiller
      • ----------
    • Former Professors
    • digitalonly-Semester
    • ----------
  • Civil Engineering
  • Geodesy and Geoinformatics
  • Urban Planning
  • Metropolitan Culture
  • Techn. Gebäudeausrüstung (TGA)
  • Fachübergreifende Studienangebote
  • Jobs
  • Studierendenvertretung
--------------------

Architecture, Space and Society

The division architecture, space and society deals with the complex networks and social relations of architecture as well as the methods of making visible its production and transformation processes in everyday life. In doing so, it is always a matter of challenging a rigid object-oriented thinking in architecture and making anonymous groups, such as the users of buildings, visible as individual space-creating actors.

 

Marieke Behne | Research associate
E-Mail: marieke.behne(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Alisa Uhrig | Research associate
E-Mail: alisa.uhrig(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Greta Ghanem | Student assistant
E-Mail: greta.ghanem(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Jesco Lippke | Student assistant
E-Mail: jesco.lippke(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Latest News

On Saturday, 7/16/2022, the KulturKiosk Stuttgart invites to the theme talk "Three scientists in conversation about architecture" starting at 7 pm. Sabine Hansmann and Sandra Meireis read from their books "Monospace & Multiverse" and "Micro-Utopias of Architecture", published in 2021, which deal in different ways with new forms of cohabitation. In the architectural-theoretical discourse formations to which they refer, aesthetic and political implications play just as important a role as the intertwining of technical and social aspects. Hansmann and Meireis discuss the intersection of their theories in a joint conversation and present them to the audience for discussion. Art historian Hannelore Paflik-Huber moderates the discussion evening. Both books are available as open access publications.

On Friday, 8/12/2022 from 11am to 5pm Sabine Hansmann invites to the presentation of the seminar Architectural Ethnographic Exercises in the open space of the MK&G. The students show elaborations of their ethnographic observations at the main train station. Specifically, practices of observing, mapping, drawing and sound recording and their respective ways of opening up places and situations were tested and reflected upon. 

Courses

Research

HOOU-Project "Material Stories"

Especially in the past 60 years, a fundamental change has taken place in the relationship between humans and nature. Architecture has played a leading role in this. In Germany, the construction and maintenance of buildings causes about 40% of CO2 emissions, 52% of our waste and consumes 90% of the mineral, non-renewable resources in the production of building materials. The immense energy consumption and high CO2 emissions of buildings and non-recyclable construction waste, but also increasing social inequalities and societal cleavages require a fundamental change of mindset in construction and architecture. Following the enlightenment and also the tradition of modernity, we separate in our imagination humans and nature, nature and culture. But this categorical separation seems questionable when we consider the complex implications of humans and nature in times of the Anthropocene. As architects, we make nature with our everyday design decisions. All building activities have impacts locally, on the immediate neighborhood, as well as on the Earth system globally. While in many areas of our daily lives we are aware of our complicated relationships with, for example, the clothing industry in Bangladesh, we are less aware of the interconnectedness of our construction industry for instance in the wake of lime or sand mining. Yet in light of the climate crisis, such awareness is urgently needed in order to be able to take responsibility for our spatial planning activities.

Material Stories is an interdisciplinary research-based teaching project and online archive that playfully, politically, and with a precise fous uses small narratives that are researched according to scientific standards to trace and make visible our complex, mostly invisible socio-ecological entanglements in the everyday life of the things / materials / resources with which we build, and offers impulses for rethinking.

The open access resource provided on the Hamburg Open Online University, or "HOOU", serves as an information medium for students, teachers and practitioners in the field of architecture in particular and all planning disciplines in general - as well as for a broader, ecologically interested public. Due to the intended variety of the material stories, which give insights into our resource management and are also always telling from the lives of other people and species, will additionally offer a multitude of connecting points for a wide range of disciplines and fields of interest.

Project start: February 2022

Archive

Contact Information

Prof. Dr. Sabine Hansmann

HafenCity University Hamburg
Studio 3.111.2

Tel.: +49 (0)40 42827-5366
sabine.hansmann(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Consultation hours during the lecture period:
Wednesday 11-12 a.m.
(after registration via email)

--------------------
  • Bachelor
  • Architektur
    • ----------
    • Studiengang
    • Studieninteressierte
    • Aufbau | Lehrinhalte
    • Kursangebote
    • Vorlesungspläne | Termine
    • Thesis
    • Ansprechpartner | Gremien
    • Professor:innen
      • ----------
      • Prof. Susanne Brorson
      • Prof. Bernd Dahlgrün
      • Prof. Dr. Udo Dietrich
      • Prof. Dr. Jörn Düwel
      • Prof. Dr. Sabine Hansmann
      • Prof. Martin Kläschen
      • Prof. Dirk Krutke
      • Prof. Barbara Ludescher
      • Prof. Daniel Mondino
      • Prof. Karsten Schlesier
      • Prof. Antje Stokman
      • Prof. Gesine Weinmiller
      • ----------
    • Ehemalige Professor:innen
    • digitalonly-Semester
    • ----------
  • Bauingenieurwesen
  • Geodäsie und Geoinformatik
  • Stadtplanung
  • Kultur der Metropole
  • Techn. Gebäudeausrüstung (TGA)
  • Fachübergreifende Studienangebote
  • Jobs
  • Studierendenvertretung
--------------------

Architektur, Raum und Gesellschaft

Das Arbeitsgebiet Architektur, Raum und Gesellschaft beschäftigt sich mit den komplexen Netzwerken und sozialen Beziehungen von Architektur sowie den Methoden der Sichtbarmachung ihrer Produktions- und Transformationsprozesse im Alltag. Dabei geht es immer auch darum, ein starres objektorientiertes Architekturdenken herauszufordern und häufig anonymisierte Gruppen wie etwa die Nutzer*innen von Gebäuden als individuelle raumschaffende Akteure sichtbar zu machen.

 

Team

Marieke Behne | Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin
E-Mail: marieke.behne(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Alisa Uhrig | Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin
E-Mail: alisa.uhrig(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Patricia Seegmüller | Tutorin, studentische Hilfskraft
E-Mail: kristine.seegmueller(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Greta Ghanem | Studentische Hilfskraft
E-Mail: greta.ghanem(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Aktuelles

Am Samstag, 16.07.2022 lädt der KulturKiosk Stuttgart ab 19 Uhr zum Themen Talk „Drei Wissenschaftlerinnen im Gespräch über Architektur“. Sabine Hansmann und Sandra Meireis lesen aus Ihren 2021 erschienenen Büchern „Monospace & Multiverse“ und „Mikro-Utopien der Architektur“, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise mit neuen Formen des Zusammenlebens beschäftigen. In den architekturtheoretischen Diskursformationen auf die sie Bezug nehmen, spielen ästhetische und politische Implikationen eine ebenso große Rolle wie die Verschränkung von technischen und sozialen Aspekten. Hansmann und Meireis erörtern die Schnittmenge ihrer Theorien im gemeinsamen Gespräch und stellen diese dem Publikum zur Diskussion. Die Kunstwissenschaftlerin Hannelore Paflik-Huber begleitet den Gesprächsabend moderierend. Beide Bücher sind als Open Access Publikationen bei transcript verfügbar.

 

Am Freitag, 12.08.2022 von 11 bis 17 Uhr laden wir zur Präsentation des Seminars Architekturethnographische Übungen im Freiraum des MK&G ein. Die Studierenden zeigen Ausarbeitungen ihrer ethnographischen Beobachtungen am Hauptbahnhof. Konkret wurden Praktiken des Beobachtens, Kartierens, der Zeichnung und der Tonaufnahme und ihre je eigenen Möglichkeiten, Orte und Situationen zu öffnen, erprobt und reflektiert. 

Lehre

Forschung

HOOU-Projekt „Material Geschichten“

Besonders in den vergangenen 60 Jahren hat sich ein fundamentaler Wandel in der Beziehung von Mensch und Natur vollzogen. Die Architektur hat hierbei eine tragende Rolle gespielt. Der Bau und Betrieb von Gebäuden verursacht in Deutschland ca. 40% des CO2-Austoßes, 52% unseres Müllaufkommens und verbraucht 90% der mineralischen, nicht nachwachsenden Rohstoffe in der Baustoffproduktion. Der immense Energieverbrauch und hohe CO2-Emissionen von Gebäuden, Baustellenabfälle und nicht-recycelbarer Bauschutt, aber auch zunehmende soziale Ungleichheiten und gesellschaftliche Spaltungen erfordern ein grundsätzliches Umdenken im Bauwesen und der Architektur. Der Aufklärung und auch der Tradition der Moderne folgend, trennen wir in unserer Vorstellung Mensch und Natur, Natur und Kultur. Doch scheint diese kategorische Trennung fraglich, wenn wir uns die komplexen Verstrickungen von Mensch und Natur in Zeiten des Anthropozäns vor Augen führen. Als Architekt*innen machen wir Natur mit unseren alltäglichen entwerferischen Entscheidungen. Alle bauenden Aktivitäten haben Auswirkungen in der direkten Nachbarschaft lokal ebenso wie im Erdsystem global. Während uns in vielen Bereichen unseres alltäglichen Lebens unsere komplizierten Beziehungen etwa mit der Kleidungsindustrie in Bangladesch bewusst sind, ist uns die Verflochtenheit unserer Bauindustrie etwa im Zuge des Kalk- oder Sandabbaus weniger bekannt. Doch ist vor dem Hintergrund des Klimanotstandes ein eben solches Bewusstsein dringend notwendig, um Verantwortung für unser raumplanendes Handeln übernehmen zu können.

Material Geschichten ist ein interdisziplinär forschendes Lehrprojekt und online Archiv, das spielerisch, politisch und mit präzisem Blick anhand kleiner, aber nach wissenschaftlichen Standards recherchierter Erzählungen unsere komplexen, meist unsichtbaren sozio-ökologischen Verstrickungen im Alltag der Dinge / Materialien / Ressourcen, mit denen wir bauen, nachverfolgt, sichtbar macht und Anreize zum Umdenken bietet.

Die auf der Hamburger Open Online University, kurz „HOOU“, bereitgestellte Open Access Ressource dient einerseits Studierenden, Lehrenden und Praktizierenden im Bereich der Architektur im Speziellen und allen planenden Disziplinen im Allgemeinen – wie auch einer breiteren, ökologisch interessierten Öffentlichkeit – als Informationsmedium. Aufgrund der angestrebten Breite der Material Geschichten, die Einblicke in unseren Ressourcenhaushalt geben und immer auch aus dem Leben anderer Menschen und Spezies erzählen, werden darüber hinaus vielfältige Anknüpfungspunkte für die unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen und Interessenbereiche geboten.


Projektstart: Februar 2022

Archiv

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Sabine Hansmann

HafenCity Universität Hamburg
Studio 3.111.2

Tel.: +49 (0)40 42827-5366
sabine.hansmann(at)hcu-hamburg.de

Sprechstunde in der Vorlesungszeit:
Mittwoch 11–12 Uhr
(nach Anmeldung per Email)