Structure and Organisation of the HCU

University presidential board

The Management of the HCU

The President, the Chancellor, the Vice President for Research and Internationalisation and the Vice President for Teaching form the Presidential Board of the HafenCity University Hamburg.

The Board manages the university. Its tasks are defined in §79 of the Hamburg Higher Education Act (HmbHG).


University Council

these are appointed by the Senate of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and two by the University Senate. These four members jointly elect the fifth member.

The University Council confirms the election and dismissal of the President of the University and elects the Chancellor. It also approves the basic regulations and, in agreement with the University Senate, passes resolutions on the structure and development plan of HafenCity University Hamburg.

The composition, duties and competences of the University Council are defined in §84 of the Hamburg Higher Education Act (HmbHG).

University Senate

The University Senate of the HafenCity University Hamburg consists of six professors, two members of the academic staff, two students and one member of the technical, library and administrative staff (TVP). The members of the Presidential Board are advisory members of the University Senate without voting rights. The President chairs the Senate. The composition and election of the University Senate is set out in §12 of the Basic Regulations of HafenCity University Hamburg.

The University Senate elects the President of HafenCity University and confirms the Vice Presidents.

The duties of the University Senate are defined in §85 of the Hamburg Higher Education Act (HmbHG).

Staff Council

The Staff Council is the employee representative body at HafenCity University Hamburg. It consists of seven members who represent the various different status groups at the university.

Its composition, election and duties are set out in the Hamburg Staff Representation Act (HmbPersVG).

Students Council

The interests of students are represented at various levels of HafenCity University Hamburg.
Student representatives are members of the University Senate.
The students elect a student parliament (StuPa) at a university-wide level. The StuPa elects the General Students' Committee (AStA) as a standing representative body.
The students in the degree programmes organise themselves into student councils (FSRs).
The student body adopts its own regulations and statutes. These are approved by the Presidential Board of the University.