--------------------
  • Research
  • Organisation
  • Coordinated Projects
  • Doctoral Stud. / Postdoc Info.
  • Arbeitsgebiete
  • DFG-Research training group
  • CityScienceLab
  • Digital City Science
    • ----------
    • Team
    • Projects
    • News
    • Partner and Cooperations
    • Seminars, Workshops, Teaching
    • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig
    • ----------
  • BIMLab
  • Energieforschungsverbund HH
  • Gastforschende
  • Research Funding
  • Hamburg Open Science
--------------------

Digital City Science

Digital City Science - Exploring Urban Systems

Digital City Science at HCU explores urban complexity with digital technologies. Our team develops scientific new approaches for the analysis and integrative planning of urban systems. For this purpose, the team comprises expertise in architectural design, urban and spatial planning, media technology, IT, and software development, among others. In cooperation with partners from academia, business, administration, and civil society, we develop data-based tools and methodologies that are applied in the national and international context. Our scientific activities span from fundamental research across applied projects to knowledge transfer in scientific teaching and training.

Research and Projects

Here you can find an overview of our current Research and Projects

Research Focus

Convergence of sustainable and digital city research: In projects like „Sustainable Development of Urban Regions“ or the Grasbrook City Scope we explore how two megatrends of current urban research – the digital transformation of cities and the demand for sustainable urban development – can be converged within a unified scientific framework.

 

Multi-layer Analysis of Urban Systems: In projects like Grasbrook City Scope (a cooperation with the MIT Media Lab) we investigate how multiple functional and physical layers of urban systems can be analysed and cross-connected, e.g. social activities, transportation and accessibility, noise emission, or stormwater runoff, or. The key instrument here is Agent-Based-Models.

 

Smart Quarter and Smart Building Data: In investigations on smart buildings and neighbourhoods in the context of the HafenCity and Kleiner Grasbrook urban development, as well as in teaching courses like „Data Café“, we explore how data from the „internet of buildings“ can be used for the purpose of intelligent urban development.

 

Integrated Urban Development worldwide: In international cooperations with the German Agency for International Cooperation (GIZ), among others, we search for new approaches how the rapid evolution of urban agglomerations and informal settlements especially in the Global South can be supported by open source tools like the „TOSCA Toolkit or Open and Sustainable City Planning and Analysis“.

 

Seminars, Workshops, Teaching

Here you can find an overview of our current Seminars, Workshops, Teaching

PhD Candidates

Neele Eicker: Participative Community Networks – Applications in the Indian Context

Taha Hatcha: Mobility as a Service system optimization and its data exploitation for city planning

Holger Prang: Generating Urban Soundscapes From Single Images

 

 

Kontakt

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig

HafenCity Universität Hamburg
Henning-Voscherau-Platz 1
20457 Hamburg

 

Digital City Science online

Visit our profiles on 

LinkedIn, Xing, twitter, ResearchGate and GitHub

Aktuelles

Putting the Social on the Table - Conference

(September 2022)

The conference held at Technion in Haifa last week. The discussion topics were modelling of social dynamics, participation as a source of legitimacy and smartcity as a planning instrument. The discussions were also included MICADO project, as a good source which embodies all of these topics.

 

 

Consortium Meeting MOVE21

(September 2022)

The MOVE21 general assembly and study visit to Oslo and Gothenburg were carried out starting with the presentations by Vegar Andersen (Political Adviser to the Governing Mayor of the City of Oslo) and Maria Oscott (Head of mobility at Lindholmen Science Park, Gothenburg). The MOVE21 partners had some inspiring and foresighted discussions.

 

 

KES International Conference in Verona

(September 2022)

DCS contributed to the conference by clarifying the "Digital Approaches to Social Dynamics in Cities", the "Science of Tooling", and the "Digitalization" of urban bicycling data - among others.

--------------------
  • Research
  • Organisation
  • Forschungsprojekte
  • Promotion/ Postdoc
  • Arbeitsgebiete / Professuren
  • DFG-Graduiertenkolleg
  • CityScienceLab
  • Digital City Science
    • ----------
    • Team
    • Forschung und Projekte
    • News
    • Partner und Kooperationen
    • Seminare, Workshops, Lehre
    • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig
    • ----------
  • BIMLab
  • Energieforschungsverbund HH
  • Forschungsinitiative Architektur
  • Gastforschende
  • Forschungsförderung
  • Hamburg Open Science
--------------------

Digital City Science

Digital City Science - Exploring Urban Systems

Digital City Science verbindet urbane und technologische Systeme. Unser Team entwickelt wissenschaftliche, datenbasierte Methoden zur Analyse und integrative Planung von urbanen Systemen. Dabei hat unser interdisziplinär ausgerichtetes Team viel Erfahrung und Kompetenz in den Bereichen Architektur, Stadt- und Raumplanung, Sozialwissenschaften, Medientechnik, IT und Softwareentwicklung. In Kooperation mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft entwickeln wir datenbasierte Werkzeuge und Methoden, die regional und international angewandt werden. Die interdisziplinären Aktivitäten der Digital City Science reichen von der Grundlagenforschung über angewandte Projekte bis hin zum Wissenstransfer in der akademischen Lehre und Ausbildung.

 

Forschung und Projekte

Übersicht über die Digital City Science Forschungsprojekte

Schwerpunkte in Lehre und Forschung

 

Nachhaltige und digitale Stadtforschung: In Projekten wie SURE "Nachhaltige Entwicklung urbaner Regionen" oder dem Grasbrook City Scope untersuchen wir, wie zwei Megatrends der aktuellen Stadtforschung, die digitale Transformation von Städten und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung, in einem wissenschaftlichen Rahmen zusammengedacht und zusammengeführt werden können.

 

Multi-layer Analysen urbaner Systemen: In Projekten wie Grasbrook City Scope (eine Kooperation mit dem MIT Media Lab) untersuchen wir, wie mehrere funktionale Schichten urbaner Systeme im Rahmen der aktuellen Stadtplanung analysiert und miteinander verknüpft werden können, z.B. Transport und Erreichbarkeit, Lärmemissionen und Regenwasserabfluss. Das zentrale Instrument sind dabei Agent-Based-Models.

 

Smartes Quartier und Smart Building Daten: In unseren Projekten zu Smart Buildings und Quartieren im Rahmen der Stadtentwicklung HafenCity und Kleiner Grasbrook sowie in Lehrveranstaltungen wie dem "Data Café" erkunden wir, wie Daten aus dem "Internet der Gebäude" für eine intelligente Stadtentwicklung genutzt werden können.

 

 

Globale Stadtentwicklung: In internationalen Kooperationen, u.a. mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), und dem Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) suchen wir nach neuen Ansätzen, wie die rasante Entwicklung von städtischen Ballungsräumen und informellen Siedlungen insbesondere im Globalen Süden und Südostasien durch Open-Source-Werkzeuge wie das "Open City Toolkit" unterstützt werden kann.

 

Seminare, Workshops, Lehre

Übersicht über die Digital City Science Seminare, Workshops, Lehre

Laufende Promotionsvorhaben

Neele Eicker: Participative Community Networks – Applications in the Indian Context

Taha Hatcha: Mobility as a Service system optimization and its data exploitation for city planning

Holger Prang: Generating Urban Soundscapes From Single Images

 

 

Kontakt

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig

HafenCity Universität Hamburg
Henning-Voscherau-Platz 1
20457 Hamburg

 

Digital City Science online

Digital City Science auf

LinkedIn, Xing, twitter und GitHub

Aktuelles

MICADO Team veröffentlicht über komplexe Ankunftsverfahren als Herausforderung für die Migrationsforschung

(Januar 2022)

Rosa Thoneick, Marie Malchow, Ingrid Breckner und Jörg Noennig untersuchen Migration aus einer städtischen Perspektive und liefern eine vergleichende Analyse quantitativer und qualitativer Methoden in der Migrationsforschung. Die Publikation von Leuven University Press untersucht den Einsatz ko-kreativer Methoden zur Untersuchung der Integration von Migranten in europäischen Gesellschaften und versammelt weitere Artikel über das DCS Horizon-2020 Projekt MICADO.

Ko-Kreation in der Migrationsforschung

 

Medifly Umfage und Bürgerbeteiligung startet

(December 2021)

Die Berücksichtigung der Hoffnungen, Sorgen und Einstellungen der Bürger*innen ist fester Bestandteil des Projekts Medifly. Mit der online-basierten, anonymen Umfrage möchte die HafenCity Universität, Forschungsgruppe Digital City Science, herausfinden, wie die Bürger*innen Hamburgs zum Einsatz von Drohnen zum Transport von medizinischen Gütern, aber auch zu anderen Zwecken stehen.

Medifly Umfrage

MOVE21 - Micro-Hubs für Pakete lösen das Last-Mile-Problem

(Dezember 2021)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig und Dr. Jesús López Baeza erklären dem Future Moves wie durch clevere Last-Mile-Konzepte die innerstädtischen CO2-Emissionen um bis zum 30 Prozent reduzieren werden können.

Mit Micro-Hubs gegen die Folgen des Paketliefer-Booms