--------------------
  • Research
  • Organisation
  • Coordinated Projects
  • Doctoral Stud. / Postdoc Info.
  • Arbeitsgebiete
  • DFG-Research training group
  • CityScienceLab
  • Digital City Science
    • ----------
    • Team
    • Projects
    • News
    • Partner und Kooperationen
    • Seminars, Workshops, Teaching
    • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig
    • ----------
  • BIMLab
  • Energieforschungsverbund HH
  • Gastforschende
  • Research Funding
  • Hamburg Open Science
--------------------

Digital City Science

Digital City Science - Exploring Urban Systems

Digital City Science at HCU explores urban complexity with digital technologies. Our team develops scientific new approaches for the analysis and integrative planning of urban systems. For this purpose, the team comprises expertise in architectural design, urban and spatial planning, media technology, IT, and software development, among others. In cooperation with partners from academia, business, administration, and civil society, we develop data-based tools and methodologies that are applied in the national and international context. Our scientific activities span from fundamental research across applied projects to knowledge transfer in scientific teaching and training.

Research and Projects

Here you can find an overview of our current Research and Projects

Research Focus

Convergence of sustainable and digital city research: In projects like „Sustainable Development of Urban Regions“ or the Grasbrook City Scope we explore how two megatrends of current urban research – the digital transformation of cities and the demand for sustainable urban development – can be converged within a unified scientific framework.

 

Multi-layer Analysis of Urban Systems: In projects like Grasbrook City Scope (a cooperation with the MIT Media Lab) we investigate how multiple functional and physical layers of urban systems can be analysed and cross-connected, e.g. social activities, transportation and accessibility, noise emission, or stormwater runoff, or. The key instrument here is Agent-Based-Models.

 

Smart Quarter and Smart Building Data: In investigations on smart buildings and neighbourhoods in the context of the HafenCity and Kleiner Grasbrook urban development, as well as in teaching courses like „Data Café“, we explore how data from the „internet of buildings“ can be used for the purpose of intelligent urban development.

 

Integrated Urban Development worldwide: In international cooperations with the German Agency for International Cooperation (GIZ), among others, we search for new approaches how the rapid evolution of urban agglomerations and informal settlements especially in the Global South can be supported by open source tools like the „Open City Toolkit“.

 

Seminars, Workshops, Teaching

Here you can find an overview of our current Seminars, Workshops, Teaching

PhD Candidates

Neele Eicker: Participative Community Networks – Applications in the Indian Context

Taha Hatcha: Mobility as a Service system optimization and its data exploitation for city planning

Holger Prang: Generating Urban Soundscapes From Single Images

 

 

Kontakt

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig

HafenCity Universität Hamburg
Henning-Voscherau-Platz 1
20457 Hamburg

 

Digital City Science online

Visit our profiles on 

LinkedIn, Xing, twitter, ResearchGate and GitHub

Aktuelles

The ECOMM2022 Conference on Sustainable Mobility

(June 2022)

MOVE21 and its sister initiative Scale-Up organized a session. Session theme was governance innovation for decarbonizing urban mobility and logistics; Scale-purpose Up's is to drive green and inclusive mobility development in European cities. The meeting was presided over by Lucian Zagan, Eurocities, who is involved in both initiatives. Jess López Baeza of MOVE21 finished the event by highlighting urban vitality and public space use in Altona, Hamburg, as a result of the smart placement of street-scale logistic hubs.

The ECOMM2022

 

 

MOVE21 Site Visit: Hamburg

(May 2022)

HafenCity University, City of Hamburg, Altona District, and local stakeholders organized a 3 days event including site visits, study, networking, walking, and cycling, showing to the MOVE21: Zero-Emission 21st Century consortium the ambitious plans and ongoing initiatives in the Hamburg pilot. 

 

 

TOSCA Begins in Palestine

(March 2022)

The Toolkit for Open and Sustainable City Planning and Analysis (TOSCA), developed under the Digital City Science, in cooperation with GIZ and local partners, begins a following development phase in the Palestinian regions. From March 2022 until January 2023, the HafenCity University Hamburg in cooperation with the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, the Ministry of Local Governments and the An-Najah National University in Nablus, will be working together in the further development and implementation of the Toolkit for Open and Sustainable City Planning and Analysis (TOSCA), with the purpose of streamlining the housing development process and diminishing environmental impacts.  The Toolkit serves as support for the realm of urban planning, in view of the dramatic population density increase and criticality of land availability in the region, especially in the peripheral areas outside of the Urban Master Plans.

Source of the Photo: International Art Academy of Palestine (Bloomberg.com)

--------------------
  • Research
  • Organisation
  • Forschungsprojekte
  • Promotion/ Postdoc
  • Arbeitsgebiete / Professuren
  • DFG-Graduiertenkolleg
  • CityScienceLab
  • Digital City Science
    • ----------
    • Team
    • Forschung und Projekte
    • News
    • Partner und Kooperationen
    • Seminare, Workshops, Lehre
    • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig
    • ----------
  • BIMLab
  • Energieforschungsverbund HH
  • Gastforschende
  • Forschungsförderung
  • Hamburg Open Science
--------------------

Digital City Science

Digital City Science - Exploring Urban Systems

Digital City Science verbindet urbane und technologische Systeme. Unser Team entwickelt wissenschaftliche, datenbasierte Methoden zur Analyse und integrative Planung von urbanen Systemen. Dabei hat unser interdisziplinär ausgerichtetes Team viel Erfahrung und Kompetenz in den Bereichen Architektur, Stadt- und Raumplanung, Sozialwissenschaften, Medientechnik, IT und Softwareentwicklung. In Kooperation mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft entwickeln wir datenbasierte Werkzeuge und Methoden, die regional und international angewandt werden. Die interdisziplinären Aktivitäten der Digital City Science reichen von der Grundlagenforschung über angewandte Projekte bis hin zum Wissenstransfer in der akademischen Lehre und Ausbildung.

 

Forschung und Projekte

Übersicht über die Digital City Science Forschungsprojekte

Schwerpunkte in Lehre und Forschung

 

Nachhaltige und digitale Stadtforschung: In Projekten wie SURE "Nachhaltige Entwicklung urbaner Regionen" oder dem Grasbrook City Scope untersuchen wir, wie zwei Megatrends der aktuellen Stadtforschung, die digitale Transformation von Städten und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung, in einem wissenschaftlichen Rahmen zusammengedacht und zusammengeführt werden können.

 

Multi-layer Analysen urbaner Systemen: In Projekten wie Grasbrook City Scope (eine Kooperation mit dem MIT Media Lab) untersuchen wir, wie mehrere funktionale Schichten urbaner Systeme im Rahmen der aktuellen Stadtplanung analysiert und miteinander verknüpft werden können, z.B. Transport und Erreichbarkeit, Lärmemissionen und Regenwasserabfluss. Das zentrale Instrument sind dabei Agent-Based-Models.

 

Smartes Quartier und Smart Building Daten: In unseren Projekten zu Smart Buildings und Quartieren im Rahmen der Stadtentwicklung HafenCity und Kleiner Grasbrook sowie in Lehrveranstaltungen wie dem "Data Café" erkunden wir, wie Daten aus dem "Internet der Gebäude" für eine intelligente Stadtentwicklung genutzt werden können.

 

 

Globale Stadtentwicklung: In internationalen Kooperationen, u.a. mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), und dem Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) suchen wir nach neuen Ansätzen, wie die rasante Entwicklung von städtischen Ballungsräumen und informellen Siedlungen insbesondere im Globalen Süden und Südostasien durch Open-Source-Werkzeuge wie das "Open City Toolkit" unterstützt werden kann.

 

Seminare, Workshops, Lehre

Übersicht über die Digital City Science Seminare, Workshops, Lehre

Laufende Promotionsvorhaben

Neele Eicker: Participative Community Networks – Applications in the Indian Context

Taha Hatcha: Mobility as a Service system optimization and its data exploitation for city planning

Holger Prang: Generating Urban Soundscapes From Single Images

 

 

Kontakt

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rainer Noennig

HafenCity Universität Hamburg
Henning-Voscherau-Platz 1
20457 Hamburg

 

Digital City Science online

Digital City Science auf

LinkedIn, Xing, twitter, ResearchGate und GitHub

Aktuelles

Die ECOMM2022-Konferenz über nachhaltige Mobilität

(Juni 2022)

MOVE21 und seine Schwesterinitiative Scale-Up organisierten eine Sitzung. Das Thema der Sitzung war Governance-Innovation für die Dekarbonisierung der städtischen Mobilität und Logistik; Scale-Up's Ziel ist es, eine grüne und inklusive Mobilitätsentwicklung in europäischen Städten voranzutreiben. Die Sitzung wurde von Lucian Zagan, Eurocities, geleitet, der an beiden Initiativen beteiligt ist. Jess López Baeza von MOVE21 beendete die Veranstaltung, indem er die urbane Vitalität und die Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums in Altona, Hamburg, als Ergebnis der intelligenten Platzierung von Logistikknotenpunkten im Straßenformat hervorhob.

The ECOMM2022

 

 

MOVE21 Exkursion: Hamburg

(Mai 2022)

Die HafenCity Universität, die Stadt Hamburg, der Bezirk Altona und lokale Akteure organisierten eine dreitägige Veranstaltung mit Besichtigungen, Studien, Netzwerken, Spaziergängen und Fahrradtouren, um dem Konsortium MOVE21: Zero-Emission 21st Century die ehrgeizigen Pläne und laufenden Initiativen des Hamburger Pilotprojekts vorzustellen. 

 

 

TOSCA startet in Palästina

(März 2022)

Das im Rahmen der Digital City Science in Zusammenarbeit mit der GIZ und lokalen Partnern entwickelte Toolkit for Open and Sustainable City Planning and Analysis (TOSCA) geht in den palästinensischen Gebieten in eine weitere Entwicklungsphase. Von März 2022 bis Januar 2023 wird die HafenCity Universität Hamburg in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, dem Ministry of Local Governments und der An-Najah National University in Nablus an der Weiterentwicklung und Implementierung des Toolkits for Open and Sustainable City Planning and Analysis (TOSCA) arbeiten, um den Prozess der Siedlungsentwicklung zu vereinfachen und die Umweltauswirkungen zu verringern.  Das Toolkit dient als Unterstützung für den Bereich der Stadtplanung angesichts des dramatischen Anstiegs der Bevölkerungsdichte und der kritischen Verfügbarkeit von Land in der Region, insbesondere in den Randgebieten außerhalb der städtischen Masterpläne.

Quelle des Fotos: Internationale Kunstakademie von Palästina (Bloomberg.com)